February 09, 2024

Lionheart schools triumph in first ever dodgeball competition

“Duck! Dive! Dodge!” That’s what our students were doing on Wednesday 7th February, as all eight Lionheart secondary schools congregated at the Sir Jonathan North Girls’ College Tennis Centre for the first ever Trust-wide dodgeball tournament.

Students from across all our Leicester and Leicestershire schools were split into age categories and competed against one another for the right to be crowned Lionheart Dodgeball Champions. 

Schools brought squads of 10, with six students playing at any one time, and the competition adopted a round robin format, with each school playing every other team in their category.  

With five points awarded for a win, three points for a draw and a single point for a loss, the tournament was played in a highly-competitive, yet friendly spirit with each student giving their all to win, and those on the side lines cheering on their respective schools. Alongside the health and wellbeing benefits, the fun experience also allowed students to apply many of the sporting skills they acquired in their PE lessons to a competitive context. 

After two hours of high-octane, pulsating action, the results were revealed: 

Following a three-way tie for first place in the Year 7/8 Girls category, the winner was decided via a points countback, with Sir Jonathan North just shading the victory. Meanwhile, Humphrey Perkins enjoyed a fantastic afternoon, as they claimed gold in both the Year 7/8 Boys and Year 9/10 Girls categories; whilst, in the final category - the Year 9/10 Boys – it was Castle Rock who emerged triumphed. 

The afternoon was thoroughly enjoyed by all – staff and students – and plans are already underway to make the event a yearly occurrence. 

“The students’ attitude, effort levels and team work were fantastic and they represented their schools really well,” commented Rebecca Ardley, PE Lead for Lionheart. 


Year 7/8 Girls 

  1. Sir Jonathan North Girls’ College 
  2. The Newbridge School 
  3. Beauchamp College 

Year 7/8 Boys 

  1. Humphrey Perkins School 
  2. Judgemeadow Community College 
  3. Martin High School 

Year 9/10 Girls  

  1. Humphrey Perkins School 
  2. Martin High School 
  3. Sir Jonathan Girls’ College 

Year 9/10 Boys 

  1. The Castle Rock School 
  2. Beauchamp College 
  3. Humphrey Perkins School 

Participating Schools: Beauchamp College, The Castle Rock School, The Cedars Academy, Humphrey Perkins School, Judgemeadow Community College, Martin High School, Sir Jonathan North Girls’ College and The Newbridge School.